thumpR was formed in Perth, Western Australia in early 2008, the three members already playing regularly together in a larger ensemble and having established a rapport.

Guitarist Simon Jeans provides compositions that are brought to life by the amazing talents of drummer Andy Fisenden and bassist Dane Alderson, both of whom have steadily growing international reputations from tours and recordings with the likes of Australian jazz icon James Morrison, Perth band Void, UK act The Sugababes, as well as clinic tours with Keith Carlock and Victor Wooten.

The music of thumpR evolved from the traditional jazz guitar trio featuring improvisational interplay over complex harmonies and rhythms, to it’s current incarnation: with more of a rock, blues and funk sound, as well as steel-string acoustic and bottleneck slide guitar, thumpR’s music now heralds a return to early guitar influences, undeniably shaped through years of listening to and playing jazz and it’s various fusions.
Echo Papa Alphabet was recorded by Rob Agostini at Soundbaker Studios, with original artwork by Katherine Jago

Recommended if you like
Mike Stern, Jeff Beck, Scott Henderson, Robben Ford, Wayne Krantz, John Scofield
See album notes & reviews on CDBaby